Full Steam Ahead: How Steam is Becoming My One True Love

1306-steam-steam-love

Ok, so I’ve never really been part of the PC Master Race. I tried it, but honestly I still prefer a good ol’ fashioned controller and console. So what does Steam decide to do? Come out with their own beautiful and extremely functional controller that I simply must have in my life immediately.

steam

The controller is a really interesting design, almost looking like a flattened Xbox controller but with sleeker pads. I think that the description on the Steam store adequately says everything you need to know about the controller, it “is an innovative input device that allows you to play games from all genres, including traditional gamepad-style games as well as games usually reserved for play with a mouse and keyboard. The Controllers are wireless and completely configurable.

The only sad thing is that the controller is in limited quantity, and won’t be out until this October 16th. That means that pre-ordering is essential at the moment and my wallet is screaming at me for taking anything out of it. Sad days, but that doesn’t mean it should stop you from grabbing one and letting me know how it is!

After that wonderful news I still had my reservations about getting into a serious relationship with  computer games only because it’s not just the controller that’s my problem. Don’t misunderstand me I love the enhanced graphics, the fact I’m already at my desktop anyway, the selection of games etc etc. But I hate the lack of refunds! Oh wait, you’re going to give me refunds too? Well shoot.

Steam just announced last week as well that they will be offering refunds. Now this comes with some stipulations that as yet haven’t been fully defined by the company. Mostly stating that if they catch users abusing the refund option than they would ban said user from refunds and other nasty affairs, but that refunds would be offered on all games up to two weeks after purchase. Not only that, but if you buy a game and it goes on sale you are eligible to get the sale price as a refund. Too much awesome to handle. But wait there is more…

image5

Not only all of the above but their iconic Steam Summer Sale starts this June 11th. My wallet is officially going to hate me. Now I know that truly I’ll always be a console girl at heart and vocally but Steam is definitely making me cheat on my Playstation with my desktop this summer and fall.

Leave a comment

Filed under games

Leave a comment